Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Bold-ass Statements: Kurt who?

Look over your right shoulder, Kurt.  Don't blame me.
An old friend from back in High School made a comment that he had found yet another reason to like Foo Fighters over Nirvana.
Whoa!
Right there.  Did you hear it?  The sound of a needle scratching across a record as the room gets quiet and everyone gasps.
I heard it too.
Then another friend added later, "What, I'm supposed to like Nirvana more because that Kurt Cobain guy died?"
The problem for me is, despite the fact that I agree *wholeheartedly* I still found myself feeling like it was a kind of music sacrilege to even think it.  We are children of the 90's, me and my friend from High School.  That is, of course, we are children of the 80's who graduated H.S. in the early 90's!  I was there when all my music-loving drama class friends bawled their eyes out when Kurt died.  I can hear my 16 year old self rail, "Nothing will ever be as good as Nirvana! (mostly I was playing along to be cool) Nothing!  Ever!"
Musical martyrdom.  It's a big deal when you's a kid.
"Foo Fighters indeed!  How dare you, sir!"
But the question is, are we the only ones ...?
Anyone ...?

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Random Rants: Bad confessions

It probably definitely says more about me than you need to know, that the first time I saw the Jessie J "Price Tag" video, I had to convince myself that it wasn't Belladonna I was looking at.
Come on!  You can't tell either!



Sunday, April 10, 2011

Bold-Ass Statements - Punk Rock Birdhouse

I don't care who disagrees.  They Might be Giants and the Dead Milkmen might as well be the same band.  I am not bothering to learn the difference and I will happily get them wrong.
Q: Who are we?  A: I don't care!

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Top 5: Change the Locks

Our title and subject today are taken from a song by Lucinda Williams, made super duper cool by Mr. Tom Petty.

There are a lot of love songs out there.  Some sappy, some clever, some tougher than leather, some silly and some soulful.  They provide a soundtrack for a relationship.  In the relationship, it's been said that every song feels like it was written for you - the two of you even.  And then afterward... after the breakup; years after time has washed away bitterness or regret, just hearing them is like cracking open a dormant safe.  It's digging up the time capsule in the front lawn of your elementary school.  The song brings you right back, remembering where you went, what you did and it makes you wonder where she is now.
"Should I call?"
"Dear God, why did I call."
"Damnit, why does she still look good and I look as dorky as my High School picture only after being smushed and widened..."

There are far fewer songs for the little block of time between the smooches and the reminiscing.  That important, "this is over and you suck and love sucks and everything sucks," moment.  Where's the song for that?!  Most are just indulgent weep sessions.  ("One Last Cry"?!  Really?!  No!)  As a guy, it's definitely a case of needing an anthem to help pull you from the depths.  Every heartbroken young woman I ever knew in a post-breakup funk could surround herself with girlfriends, load the jukebox and proclaim loudly "I will survive!"  In essense commandeering the bar in the name of ladies scorned the world over.  Doesn't matter that Gloria Gaynor is ... just ... terrible.  It works.  Plus, with a growing collection of Beyonce and Shakira breakup tracks to round it out, the ladies are set!
What do we have, men?  Well, we have Cake's remake of I Will Survive for starters. 
No thanks.
We have ... Suspicious Minds, by Elvis.  Friends in ... Low ... Ugh..! 
Look, we don't just need a breakup song, we need a "moving on" song.  A "F*ck You" song.
...
Thank you Cee-Lo.

#1. on the list is F*ck you.  Hands down.   A vacancy has been open for decades and Cee-Lo filled it.  And, kind of like a Hey Ya, part 2 it's epically throwback (maybe even outdated) in its style, but it's also unstoppable.  It's as happy as it is bitter.  And silly as it is angry-as-f*ck!  And catchy.  It's unapologettically profane and real.  He's mixing up his personal pronouns, aternating between calm, angry and shiekingly pathetic.  Like a regrettable late night phone call to the ex.
Once the novelty has worn off, and people get tired of the song, it will probably fade for a few years but then come roaring back forever.  It's our "I will survive" and I will take it!

There are other good, "I will survive" songs in the modern inventory within, say, the past 15 years.  And since they were holding us together before Cee-Lo, I owe them props.  Here they are.  let us listen:

#5. F*ck It, Eamon.  Aww, look, he had his F*ck, f*cked with, too.  F*cking censors!  So...
That moany intro to the song doesn't do him any favors.  Beat is kind of nice.  Simple.  OK, here we go, now he's rollin.  Telling her how she did wrong.  Good start.  "I liked you so much..."  Um, dude.  I don't know if just plain liking a girl is reason to crank out a whole song.  Oh, OK, you loved her.  That's better.  You got anything else?  Yeah!  I hear you, dog, F*ck all the nice things you said to her!  F*ck all those .. umm... kisses... F*ck all those presents ... (I don't think she's going to throw them out, though.)  Man, his voice is high.  I'm starting to see the reasons she might have left him.  Damnit!  This isn't working at all.  Let's listen to number 4!


#4. Stutter.  Joe Feat. Mystikal.  "My Dear, you do not know me, but I know you very well..."  Yeah!  That is it!  I am sayin!  She is caught and he is not gonna dare put up with it.  Word.  Hmmm.  He's spending a lot of time calling her out.  Wow, he's really just calling her a liar over and over and ... wow, he's asking questions I wouldn't even want to know the answers to.  Stop it Joe!
We've been there.  We're too close to the situation.  Too caught up in it to think with clarity just how we're going to come out of this with a shred of dignity or sanity.  "Where were you late last night!? I called you on your cell phone!"  Oh no, Joe...
Sometimes it's lucky we have a dickhead friend.  Enter Mystikal.  Your asshole friend who never liked your girl very much.  The one friend you had to separate from her at bars and stuff for fear he would say some crap that would get you in trouble.  And ... oh damn, he just went off on her.  Oh God, he is mocking her stutter.  He just ... yep.  He just called her a heifer.   Called. her. a. heifer.  364 days a year this guy is a liablity.  Today he just became friend MVP.  "Quit yo lyin', heifer!"


#3 Cry Me a River (remix), Justin Timberlake feat. 50 Cent.  "You don't have to say ... what you did.  I already know."  Take a cue, Joe.  That's all you've got to say.  Don't be asking for details.  Don't be taking her excuses.  DO it right and you might just flip the script (like, maybe if you were rich and looked like JT).  All of a sudden he's acting like she should be the one feeling sorry for herself.  No time for self pity, Dr. Jones.  And like a calmer, meaner Mystikal, Fiddy rolls in and closes out the end.  Giving props at first to all the girls that do right, just to mock your ex for daring to do you so wrong.  Calling out her mama.  "Go ahead and cry.  Go ahead!  Let her cry, man!"  Damn!  Just, Damn!

#2  Return of the Mack, Mark Morrison.  In the heat of that heartbroken moment we all get there.  "You did me wrong!  You lied to me!  You never loved me!"  Pretty much purging everything good about the relationship along with the bad.  What is wrong with us.  We were so in love with this girl, yet she is apparently the devil incarnate without a shred of goodness in her.  How did it get there.
"You lieeed to me!"  Oh.  Thanks Mark.  Like the only two satisfying options in your world are for her to either take you back or spontaneously explode off the face of the planet.  While we channel John Cusack's  Rob Gordon in High Fidelity, "You f*cking Bitch, let's work it out!"
And that's the beauty of this song.   You hear the music start up with a nice slow piano.  In comes the beat. Oooh, here it comes.  The drums.  Something's different.  Some how, you know he's not crying at home or shouting at her window.  Nope.  He's not telling his boys "There's no other girl for me!"  No.  He's not like you, (ya dumbass) and not like me.
Nope.  He is calling his crew of knuckleheads and telling them, Get your fly gear out!  (because it's the 90s) We are hitting the club.  He may be singing,"You lieeed to me!"  But he's doing it while ironing his shirt and sipping on yak.  He's going out, ladies.  You can't hold him back.  The player has given up trying to do right! It is Return of the Mack.  Return of the MACK, motherf*cker!"

A very special mention to Oran Juice Jones' The Rain.  It's a disposable 80s R&B song... right up until 2 minutes and 15 seconds in, and then it becomes the single greatest monologue in breakup history!

Thursday, December 9, 2010

12 Days of Christmas Music, part 6. Emissions Free!

I've said it before--my wife and I have a seemingly unending tolerance for holiday music.
But seriously... there's like eleven songs.  When songwriters were busy cranking out the holiday standards back in the day, it probably never occured to them that there would be radio stations playing Christmas music 24/7 from Thanksgiving until the 26th of December or they might have sat down to the piano and cranked out a few more.  Who could know that eventually someone would notice in the middle of their Christmas music playlist that even though there are 100 songs on that bad boy, there are only 25 different songs!  Yeah, I have Aretha singing Winter Wonderland, and that's cool, but I just checked it out--on that same playlist I have Peggy Lee, Etta James (really it should be either Etta or Aretha ... not both), whiney-ass Phantom Planet, Neil Diamond and Bing Crosby signing the same song.  That's a lot of Wonderland for one ipod.
So, when an actual new Chrismas song comes along these days it's a fricking true Christmas miracle.  But can you remember the last time that kind of miracle went down?  I do.  It was 1994's All I want for Christmas is You.  Yep.  Mariah Carey.
So a few years ago, I hear an upbeat Chrismas jingle start up and immediately it sounds just like the Jackson 5's Santa Claus is Coming to town, right here.
But it's not.  So I wait.  And listen.
And then, what to my wondering ears should appear?  Why it's Elton John, sounding ever so ... festive. Welcoming.  He starts right off "Welcome to my Chrismas song..."  Thanks, Elton.
I'm elated.  It's catchy!  It's upbeat and fun!  It's Step Into Christmas.  Finally something new; something I've never heard before.  And it must be modern because why else would Sir Elton be singing about making the holiday fun "emissions free?!"
Instant classic.  Like Wham's Last Christmas and No Doubt's Oi to the world, it's a modern miracle.  A tiny break in the monotony of the otherwise predictable holiday playlist.
Except, it's old.  Older than me!  I don't know how i missed it all these years (I can't stress enough the size of this mystery), but it was recorded in 1973.  I also don't know how i missed that the song is clearly sung by young, Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting Elton John, not crappy-ass Can You Feel the Love Tonight Elton John.
Also that environmentally preachy line ... turns out it's actually "The Admission's free!"
And then for no reason, two minutes into the song, it becomes Daniel.  Seriously, for zero reason at all, it just breaks into that haunting piano melody.  Elton's depressing song about a man's war-wounded, blind brother.  The piano just rolls in and you can almost sing along:  "Santa is travelin' tonight on a sleigh ... I can see the reindeer lights headin for Spai-i-i-i-n ... I can see Santa wavin goodbye."
Also, I can't help associating the song with the late 90s "Fall into the Gap" campain.  Although that jingly jangly Elton pop greatness is clearly more of an Old Navy style.
Step into Christmas is a new holiday classic -- or an old one.  It's cool.  It's vintage.  Or perhaps like a  hand-me-down Gap sweater, it's at least new to me!

Monday, August 23, 2010

Music Math: Ke$ha

Ke$ha
equals
Lady Gaga
plus Lady Sovereign















minus Madonna


Sunday, August 22, 2010

Top 5 shallow reasons I'm liking Hyper Crush

I spent the better part of a decade or more avoiding any form of hip-hop dance stuff.  My prejudice is a result of being a middle and high schooler in the early 90s and recalling the backlash I got from thinking bands like C&C music factory were cool.
... oh the shame ...
But it's 2010 now, and I'm not scared.  And turns out, the shit's gotten better.  And even though they're no Black Box, I'm finding myself and my itunes account drawn to Hyper Crush.  Problem is, I can't come up with a justifiably good reason to listen to them from a music appreciation standpoint.  However!  I have five perfectly good shallow reasons to like them.
1. They are feeding the 80s child in me with big fat donuts of pop culture.  In one song, The Arcade, they make references to Hypercolor, Mario Brothers, Zelda, Duck Hunt and The Wizard (Fred Savage's greatest film to date!  You heard me Princess Bride fans!)  Check it yourself!
In Robo-tech, half the video is like a Tron sequel and it even features the lyric, "Cool like Mr. T."
Reasons 2. and 3.  So, this is Holly.  And that's all I have to say.
4. In the last pic, you may have also noticed Donny and Preston.  It's like looking at Snow and Vanilla Ice!  In a group together.  How cool is that!? Shit, where's Everlast ?
5. I'm still not sure how good they are, but I am in desperate need of good workout music.  Since I first discovered them at they gym, I think maybe that's the best part.  Great beats and fun mindless lyrics.  They are serving as a sublte treadmill reminder for me right now.  So there.