Sunday, August 22, 2010

Top 5 shallow reasons I'm liking Hyper Crush

I spent the better part of a decade or more avoiding any form of hip-hop dance stuff.  My prejudice is a result of being a middle and high schooler in the early 90s and recalling the backlash I got from thinking bands like C&C music factory were cool.
... oh the shame ...
But it's 2010 now, and I'm not scared.  And turns out, the shit's gotten better.  And even though they're no Black Box, I'm finding myself and my itunes account drawn to Hyper Crush.  Problem is, I can't come up with a justifiably good reason to listen to them from a music appreciation standpoint.  However!  I have five perfectly good shallow reasons to like them.
1. They are feeding the 80s child in me with big fat donuts of pop culture.  In one song, The Arcade, they make references to Hypercolor, Mario Brothers, Zelda, Duck Hunt and The Wizard (Fred Savage's greatest film to date!  You heard me Princess Bride fans!)  Check it yourself!
In Robo-tech, half the video is like a Tron sequel and it even features the lyric, "Cool like Mr. T."
Reasons 2. and 3.  So, this is Holly.  And that's all I have to say.
4. In the last pic, you may have also noticed Donny and Preston.  It's like looking at Snow and Vanilla Ice!  In a group together.  How cool is that!? Shit, where's Everlast ?
5. I'm still not sure how good they are, but I am in desperate need of good workout music.  Since I first discovered them at they gym, I think maybe that's the best part.  Great beats and fun mindless lyrics.  They are serving as a sublte treadmill reminder for me right now.  So there.

No comments: